Claudine Papillon Gallery is pleased to present Looking for Video, a group exhibition curated by Valentine Meyer and Marion Papillon as part of the Nouvelles Vagues event by Palais de Tokyo. Aiming to present not only a great variety of videos but also works which haven't been previously screened in Paris, the curators invited fifty international curators as well as the Young Curators selected by Palais de Tokyo, to present a choice of outstanding videos, which had marked them recently. No theme was given, but the criteria of relevance.

The enthusiastic feedback from Singapore, Paris, Sao Paulo, Sion, Bahia, and Zurich was unexpectedly rich. A pre-selection of 55 videos was viewed by a jury that has since selected works by 18 artists to feature in the exhibition. The jury has awarded three artists, Basir Mahmood, Hiwa K, and Javier Pérez, whose videos will be screened as well at Fondation d'entreprise Ricard.

Members of the jury: Colette Barbier (Director, Fondation d’entreprise Ricard) Caroline Bourgeois (Curator, Collection François Pinault) Patrice Joly (Founder of 02 magazine and independent curator) Isabelle Manci (Inspecteur de la création artistique, Ministry of culture and communication), Anaël Pigeat (Chief Editor, Art Press), Giuliana Setari Carusi (Founder and president, Dena Foundation for Contemporary Art), Valentine Meyer (Curator and Director of artist residence programme, Dena Foundation for Contemporary Art) Marion Papillon (Director, Claudine Papillon Gallery)

Body as sculpture

Cinema of reality
Hiwa K* (IRAK), Cora PIANTONI (DE), Nicolás TESTONI and Christian DELGADO (ARGENTINA)

Relationships "with the devil"

Cover and erase
Armand MORIN (FR), Thierry MOUILLÉ (FR), Delphine REIST (CH), Adrien VESCOVI (FR)

Silent song – stuttering

Parody Simon DRONET (FR), Régis PERRAY (FR)

*Awarded videos

The exhibition is organised in conjunction with Nouvelles Vagues, Palais de Tokyo.

The exhibition has been kindly supported by:


Fondation d'entreprise Ricard

Comité professionnel des galeries d'art

Thanks: The gallery would like to thank all participating artists, the members of the jury, the curators and professionals, as well as Claudine Papillon for their support: Kathy Alliou (Fr), Elodie Antoine (Fr)*, Barbara Basting (Ch), Jean Barberis (Fr), Alain Berland* (Fr), Maxime Bondu (Fr), Pascale Bouchaille (Fr), Guy Boyer (Fr)*, Eva de Caevel & Ana Mendoza (Gua), Kent Chan (Sg), Blandine Chavanne (Fr)*, Marina Coelho (Br), Jérôme Diacre (Fr), Clément Dirié (Fr), Kathleen Ditzig (Sg), Marc Donnadieu (Fr), Albertine de Galbert (Fr), Didier Gouvennec Ogor (Fr)*, Juliette de Gonet (Fr), Marie Griffay (Fr), Raphaël Gygax (Ch), Patrick Javault (Fr), Louis Ho (Sg), Haeju Kim (Ko), François Michaud (Fr), Francesca di Nardo (Ch)*, Luca lo Pinto (It), Véronique Ribordy (Ch)*, Claire le Restif (Fr)*, Nicolas Ruffo (Ch), Sibylle Omlin (Ch)*, Silvia Simoncelli (Ch), Anca Sinpalean (Ch), Charmaine Toh (Sg), Natalia Valencia (Cb), Taylor Von Horne (Br)*
* video proposition selected by the jury

About the curators: Valentine Meyer lives and works in Paris. A curator, she studied art history and exhibition curating in Paris (Sorbonne) and Zurich (Zurich University of the Arts). She has worked for the Cabaret Voltaire (“Weisswald” by Claude Lévêque, performances de John Giorno, Zevs ..) and Architektur Forum in Zürich. She is director of the Dena Foundation artist residency program, founded by Mrs Giuliana Setari. She contributes to and  Also graduate in business and economics (at Paris Dauphine) she has taught at ESSEC and ZHdK, and has a solid background in managing international projects especially in Asia.

Marion Papillon, director Claudine Papillon Gallery, is associated with Claudine Papillon since 2007. Specialized in public relations, Marion Papillon is keen to promote and reinforce the dynamic of the Claudine Papillon Gallery in its singularity.